Mistaken

I’m too emotionally invested
Loud and crazy and a bit dramatic
I’m an antidote for a pragmatic

So cold and phlegmatic
Calculated and a bit schematic

And so a fight turns into a war
And so suddenly I’m crying on a kitchen floor
Wondering why I give you the advantage
To break a heart that’s already damaged

I’ve been terribly mistaken
To trust you with my soul already shaken
I’m wild and real and a bit poetic
I seem to compliment your aesthetic

I’m genetically hardwired
No one wants a heart expired

And so tears turn into resentment
And we both walk away empty handed
Wondering if I’ll see you with someone else
And if you’ll ever get over yourself

I turned quiet, shy and a bit ironic
I don’t believe loving’s iconic

I’ve been terribly mistaken
For a girl who doesn’t end up forsaken
And I was wrong, I’m sorry
And I will move on, don’t worry

I’ll learn how to heal the aching
Cause I’ve been so terribly mistaken

Leave a comment