Narcissism

Play me live
Take me to the stage and turn the volume up

Tune me in
The show’s about to start
Blow up the speakers
Like you’re blowing up hearts

I’ll be your opium for the masses
They’ll raise their glasses that I filled with poison
As if they have any choice in
What they’re drinking

Twist the knobs and dance
This is your disastrous romance
The crowd will cheer at this faithful fest
A blood ode to your emptiness

Push my buttons and play my strings
You can really do anything
Bend and twist me out of line
They’ll scream your name
They’ll build you a shrine

Play me like the encore
The grand finale
Parade me around
In the pep ralley

I’ll be your voice, we can sing together
You’ll dress me all nice in glitter and leather
I’ll live free inside your prison
A collateral victim of your narcissism

One thought on “Narcissism

  1. Pingback: Isola

Leave a comment